Monday, January 31, 2011

Sugar Loaf!

Saturday we signed our lease on the townhouse for another year. The rent is going up, but it still makes the most sense to stay here. Especially as we don't want to move again!

After, we went to the Sugar Loaf Craft Festival at the Dulles Expo Center, one of my most favorite places. It's in the area a few times a year, and I love going. I went for the first time last January. There's always tons of interesting stuff, and I come home with more than I should (without getting everything I want). It's also a great place to find gifts...I got presents for three people this time, including Andrew's Valentine's gift. He's usually hard to shop for, so this was an improvement. (Even if he did pick it out himself! But at least I know he likes it.) Ryan and Tig came with us, it was their first time. We got some nifty prints of photos for the wall, of a fall scene, a rose, and an iris. I also got some nifty wood painting things....pieces of wood with animal nature scenes painted on them that are really cool. Those'll be going up on the walls too, since we really need some more stuff as the walls are a bit bare in spots, and some have things that are just too small for the space they're on. Andrew wasn't overly enthused with the craft festival, but did enjoy the gourmet food section. We got some nifty peanut butter hot chocolate (the best you will ever taste!!) cappachino, and apple cider among other things.

After, we tried a new Thai place in Chantilly that Ryan and Tig really like. I wasn't overly impressed with the pad thai...didn't have too much taste...but what everyone else got seemed tasty. We even got to go to Milwakee Custard after...the best and most awesome ice cream/custard place you will ever come across. We hadn't been in a few years, since the one in Manassas closed. Still as good as we remembered!!! Andrew and I then went to McKay's to do trade ins and look around. (Of course we got a few things...) We stopped at WalMart and Sears (more Lands End returns...their stuff doesn't seem to be that great lately, I don't think I'll be ordering anything for awhile).

Andrew fell asleep when we got home, and I went to bed early for once...impossible as it is to believe! Sunday was chores and chilling out. I made chili (my first time) as our "large meal of the week." It turned out ok, but not great. I'll try it another way next time. It worked for dinner, Andrew's lunch, and will last us till Wednesday for our dinners.

I got to talk to baby 4.1 a few times this weekend, and even sent her first text! Rose mewed to her, and Coaly purred. She's adorable with TONS of hair! I'm hoping we'll be able to see her this year.

No comments:

Post a Comment