Monday, January 31, 2011
Why can't people admit
that they might be wrong, that not everyone agrees with them, and others have a right to there opinion (which just might be the accurate one)? A "friend" has told me that as I'm not Christian, I'm not allowed to have an opinion about the accuracy of bible translations, nor could I possibly know anything about it. This friend believe that translations of the bible do not differ, and are 100% correct, without any change of the original meaning. No way could anything have been changed over the years, and it's simple to lay hands on the original text and easily translate it, never mind that no one truly speaks those languages any longer (languages couldn't possibly evolve over time, causing a translator to have the wrong meaning of a word, now could they?) Translations are by definition and interpretation, so even if it were to be 100% correct, meanings of words change over time. Just say "that rocks" to your grandmother, and then to a teen, you'll get two different interpretations, let alone trying that with someone thousands of years older. Even then, the accuracy and validity of the bible itself has been in question. Jews don't agree with the Christians as to what belongs in it, and some passages are suspect, perhaps put in by a different, unnamed, person. Even the interpretation of the values of the bible are suspect...some say it condemns gays, some say no, it says god loves everyone. No one can say the bible is 100% truth or right, when no one can even agree on the interpretation or translation, plus time has had its way with languages and history.
Does this make the Christian religion invalid? No. People may believe what they want, but they should also recognize that there is no proof, and they just might not be right. And that others have valid opinions that could actually be the truth.
More ironically, this person said I was telling her at one point that she couldn't have an opinion or share it (which I wasn't) but told me flat out I can't. WTF?
Some people just suck, and I feel bad for them and any children they may one day have. They'll just corrupt them too.
Does this make the Christian religion invalid? No. People may believe what they want, but they should also recognize that there is no proof, and they just might not be right. And that others have valid opinions that could actually be the truth.
More ironically, this person said I was telling her at one point that she couldn't have an opinion or share it (which I wasn't) but told me flat out I can't. WTF?
Some people just suck, and I feel bad for them and any children they may one day have. They'll just corrupt them too.
Sugar Loaf!
Saturday we signed our lease on the townhouse for another year. The rent is going up, but it still makes the most sense to stay here. Especially as we don't want to move again!
After, we went to the Sugar Loaf Craft Festival at the Dulles Expo Center, one of my most favorite places. It's in the area a few times a year, and I love going. I went for the first time last January. There's always tons of interesting stuff, and I come home with more than I should (without getting everything I want). It's also a great place to find gifts...I got presents for three people this time, including Andrew's Valentine's gift. He's usually hard to shop for, so this was an improvement. (Even if he did pick it out himself! But at least I know he likes it.) Ryan and Tig came with us, it was their first time. We got some nifty prints of photos for the wall, of a fall scene, a rose, and an iris. I also got some nifty wood painting things....pieces of wood with animal nature scenes painted on them that are really cool. Those'll be going up on the walls too, since we really need some more stuff as the walls are a bit bare in spots, and some have things that are just too small for the space they're on. Andrew wasn't overly enthused with the craft festival, but did enjoy the gourmet food section. We got some nifty peanut butter hot chocolate (the best you will ever taste!!) cappachino, and apple cider among other things.
After, we tried a new Thai place in Chantilly that Ryan and Tig really like. I wasn't overly impressed with the pad thai...didn't have too much taste...but what everyone else got seemed tasty. We even got to go to Milwakee Custard after...the best and most awesome ice cream/custard place you will ever come across. We hadn't been in a few years, since the one in Manassas closed. Still as good as we remembered!!! Andrew and I then went to McKay's to do trade ins and look around. (Of course we got a few things...) We stopped at WalMart and Sears (more Lands End returns...their stuff doesn't seem to be that great lately, I don't think I'll be ordering anything for awhile).
Andrew fell asleep when we got home, and I went to bed early for once...impossible as it is to believe! Sunday was chores and chilling out. I made chili (my first time) as our "large meal of the week." It turned out ok, but not great. I'll try it another way next time. It worked for dinner, Andrew's lunch, and will last us till Wednesday for our dinners.
I got to talk to baby 4.1 a few times this weekend, and even sent her first text! Rose mewed to her, and Coaly purred. She's adorable with TONS of hair! I'm hoping we'll be able to see her this year.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)